About me

My name is Becca. I am a 29 year old full time Musculoskeletal Physiotherapist and full time amateur event rider based in Luddendenfoot just outside Halifax in West Yorkshire. I compete with my Irish sports horse at British Eventing Intermediate level (nationally) and CIC* (Internationally).

I’ve ridden since I was 7 years old and came up through the Ryburn Valley branch of the Pony Club where I did all my efficiency tests. I learnt so much during this time and am still incredibly fussy about people not wearing hairnets! I started eventing aged 13 with the dream of one day riding in top hat and tails.

Horses for 2016

Stilo Springtime (Fergal) is a 17h 10 year old grey irish sports horse. I’ve owned him since he was fresh off the boat from Ireland as a gangly five year old, producing him myself. Together we have progressed through the British Eventing grades. He’s a very sharp, quirky horse who hates being caught, having baths and is petrified of his own shadow out hacking but loves to gallop, jump and eat carrots! Fergal has been a real challenge especially on the flat but I am proud with how far we have come together.

Best 2015 result

Top twenty placing at all Novice competitions, of these finishes three were top 5. All clear cross country.

Completed three International CIC* Two day events all clear cross country and top 30 placing at all.

Competed at The inaugural Festival of British Eventing National Novice Championships 18th place, finishing on our dressage score.

Two British Eventing Intermediate completions, laying the foundation for our 2016 season.

Goals 2016

In 2016 I plan to continue and become established at Intermediate level nationally and CIC** Internationally. Plus the completion of our first International three day event (CCI**) at the end of the season if all goes to plan!

This will allow us to be qualified for a higher level of international competition. From this my dream would be to be chosen for team training to represent Great Britain at the European CIC** Championships in the future. The European Championships are my ultimate, long term goal; they are designed for amateur riding club members who are competing at a higher level.

Top Tips

TEAM WORK – I could not have got where I am without the help and support of the people around me. Find a trainer/s that work well with you and your horse and stick with them. Never under appreciate those around you, my mum is my number one supporter and comes to every event/ training with me!

BELIEVE – Perhaps a little cheesy… but believe that you can do it, confidence in you and your horse is essential and if things go wrong there is always another day.

Personal Highpoint

Completing the CIC* at Chatsworth. Chatsworth is one of my favourite events and getting to ride in the CIC* was a dream I’d had since I was about 12. I think completing my first intermediate last season on a horse I have produced myself was another highpoint.

Memorable Horses

Apart from Fergal there are two that come to mind…

A horse called Tommy who I rode for a family friend when I was a teenager. He took me to the National Pony Club Championships where we won! He was very grumpy and liked to set off when you got on sometimes but once onboard he loved his job and was a lot of fun. Tommy is now enjoying his retirement!

My first horse I produced and evented myself called Tom. He took me to the Badminton Grassroots Championships but was very difficult Cross country. He had a bit of a stop in him and we eventually moved him on to do pure Dressage but I think he taught me how to really ride Cross Country and to not give up!